👩‍🎓 Managing users

👩‍🎓 Managing users In this article we learn how to manage and edit user details on The EverLearner platform Elle Houghton

Why do we need to do this?
In order to update student and/or teacher details and passwords.
To be able to archive teachers and/or students. 

Who can do this?
Admin
HoD
Teacher (a teacher can only edit student details)

What comes before?
Users will need to have been uploaded to the site. See here for how to create student accounts and here for how to create teacher accounts. 

Managing teachers:

  1. You must be logged in and be an Admin or HoD.
  2. Choose 'Admin > Users'.
  3. Look for the grey panel with the title 'All Teachers'.
  4. Locate the teacher whose details you wish to edit and click on the pencil symbol to the right of their name. This opens up a new window. (Note that a HoD can only edit those teachers or other HoDs in their curriculum area. An admin's details can only be edited by themselves or by The Everlearner team.)
  5. Click on 'Edit information'. You can now change the curricula assigned to the teacher and their role, as well as their name, title, email address and password. (Please note that if you change someone's password you will need to notify them of this.) 
  6. Click 'Save edits'.
  7. If you wish to archive a teacher, go to 'Admin>Users'. On the grey 'All Teachers' panel, click on the folder symbol to the right of their name. 
  8. Note that archiving a teacher freezes their account and they can no longer log in. They can be reinstated any time within the following year, after which if they remain archived, they will be automatically deleted from the site. (Archived users do not count towards the total user allocation.)

Managing students:

  1. Log in to your account.
  2. Choose 'Admin > Users'.
  3. Look for the yellow panel with the title 'All Students'.
  4. Locate the student whose details you wish to edit and click on the pencil symbol to the right of their name. This opens up a new window.
  5. Click on 'Edit information'. You can now change the student's name, email address and password. (Please note that if you change someone's password you will need to notify them of this.)
  6. Click 'Save edits'.
  7. If you scroll down, you will also be able to flag the student as belonging to a particular subcategory (PP, SEN, EAL, FSM, LAC, MLD, G&T, BME). Please note that is completely optional
  8. If you wish to archive a student, go to 'Admin>Users'. On the grey 'All Students' panel, click on the folder symbol to the right of their name. 
  9. Note that archiving a student freezes their account and they can no longer log in. They can be reinstated any time within the following year, after which if they remain archived, they will be automatically deleted from the site. (Archived users do not count towards the total user allocation.)

Did this answer your question?